Learn the Different Types of Tequila

Tequila Simplified

Why are some tequilas clear and others much darker? What does agave mean? Are there differences that you need to know about before ordering your next tequila drink? Yes. Yes, there are.

Here is some basic information that is worth reading as well as a video that we found to help you know your tequila much better. As with every relationship in your life….truly knowing someone is the key to happiness. Try that with Tequila. Get to know her and see how it improves your life!

Blanco (white or silver)

This is the clear, un-aged tequila that results from the agave distillation process. It is often bottled immediately, but can be stored for up to two months in oak barrels. Blanco has a very strong flavor of the agave used in the distillation process.

Oro (gold)

This is white tequila (blanco) blended with older, aged tequilas and often other additives, such as caramel coloring, sugars, or oak extract. This is done to resemble an older, more aged tequila but also results in a taste less harsh than tequila blanco.

Reposado (rested)

This type of tequila has been aged in oak barrels for a minimum of two months, but not over one year. Aging it in oak barrels mellows the harsh taste of  blanco, and the spirit takes on some of the flavor of the oak. The aging process results in a more complex tequila – great for sipping.

Añejo (aged)

Tequila that has been aged in oak barrels for a minimum of one year, but not over three years is considered “aged”.

Extra Añejo (extra aged)

This is the newest of the tequila categories, established in March 2006. This tequila has been aged in oak barrels for a minimum of three years, with no maximum age defined.

Take a look at this entertaining video by The Tipsy Bartender who explains these differences in a much more humorous way!

Twitter Digg Delicious Stumbleupon Technorati Facebook Email

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!